Approximately 17 years ago, my roommate at the time came home with an orange tabby kitten. He fit in the palm of my hand and had a tail so long that you could wrap it around him 3 times. I persuaded her that he should be mine (she already had 2 cats) and named him Edmund Fitzgerald Orange after my favorite soap opera character (Edmund Gray on All My Children) and The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald. His nickname from the beginning was Eddy but he is also referred to as Pumpkin Boy, Adventure Boy, and Houdini.

On September 4th, 2008, my sister sent me a picture of an abandoned kitten. My roommate Kim and I decided that we would adopt this tiny, fluffy gray puff-ball. When we first brought her home, Eddy was not overly thrilled. There was the gnashing of teeth, hissing, and what Kim and I refer to as “the paw of justice” where Eddy would thwack her on the head every time she came near him. We named her Kalypso because we wanted a Greek goddess name and I threw Jean Grey at the end because I figured she deserved a middle and last name like Eddy. Her official nickname is Kalli but she’s also known as The Kitten, Kalli Keeten (I like ees), Pumpkin Girl, Football Cat (she is roughly football shaped), Portly Princess, and “Kittens do not belong in the washing machine!”

Almost 4 years later, Kalli and Eddy are the best of friends. Eddy used to be neurotic and whiny. While he still sounds like a grumpy old man (especially if he wants food), he is very active and happy. Kim and I recently moved from a city apartment to a house in the suburbs and the cats discovered stairs and Nature for the first time. In the picture, they are enjoying one of their favorite activities “deck time.” Eddy insists on walking along the railing (he’s not allowed to go near the walls since he keeps trying to get up on the roof) and Kalli will either watch him or try to catch bugs.

Love is a four-legged word to me because nothing brings me more joy than being owned by cats. No matter how bad of a day I’ve had, coming home to Kalli and Eddy makes it okay.

 

Submitted by Dana

