Both dogs came to me as adults from internet rescue searches… totally both situations where the planets simply were aligned right and there they were… I sometimes say they found me!!!

 molly11.jpg

Molly (big girl) I have had for about 4 years now.

maggie22.JPG

Maggie (‘lil girl) I have had for about 8 months.

They get along famously which I had been hoping for when I added Maggie to the family!!

 mollymaggie1.jpg

As you can see from the pic they like to sleep together… really it’s Maggie who waits until Molly is settled and then will go over and somehow snuggle in to her… sometimes it’s just a paw touching or bums butted up against each other… other times it’s full on body contact!!!

These girls are amazing… there is NOTHING quite like coming home to the greetings of a dog… and these two are no exception to that rule!!  I have a big bay window at the front of my house and so when I pull into the driveway there are the girls lounged over the back of an easy-chair (their chair lol), watching the world go by and waiting for me to come home!!  I keep meaning to take my camera with me so I can grab a shot of them like that!!

What my dogs mean to me??  Devotion, Companionship, Loyalty and Unconditional Love!!  They don’t ever question your decisions and always look to you as if you are the greatest person on earth… clearly this makes them very smart!!  They are up for anything… nothing is too great or too small, nothing is too silly or too serious… everything is a game and they are always willing participants as long as you are there!!  They are equally content to be lazy with you on a Sunday afternoon laying around by the fire watching TV or they are equally content at the thought of bundling up and heading out for a hike… it’s all good for them!!!  I love when I have a long soak in a hot bath on a cold wintery day and the dogs want to be IN the bathroom with me… laying by the tub… now I ask you… does that not all spell devotion to you??

Some favourite dog quotes:

Animals are such agreeable friends — they ask no questions, pass no criticism. –George Eliot

The great pleasure of a dog is that you may make a fool of yourself with him and not only will he not scold you, but he will make a fool of himself too. –Samuel Butler

I’ve seen the look in dogs’ eyes, a quickly vanishing look of amazed contempt, and I am convinced that basically dogs think that humans are nuts. –John Steinbeck

Submitted by Barb

